Local Lawmakers Honor Northwestern High School Girls’ Basketball Class 3A State Champions

State Reps. Heath VanNatter (R-Kokomo) and Mike Karickhoff (R-Kokomo) honor the Northwestern High School girls basketball team on Monday, March 5, at the Statehouse in Indianapolis for their victory in the Class 3A state basketball championship. The team was presented with a resolution in front of the House of Representatives.

State Reps. Heath VanNatter (R-Kokomo) and Mike Karickhoff (R-Kokomo) honored the Northwestern High School girls basketball team on Monday at the Statehouse for winning the Indiana High School Athletic Association Class 3A state championship.

The Northwestern Tigers went into the championship with a nearly perfect regular season record of 29-1. Led by Coach Kathie Layden, the Tigers beat the Greensburg Community High School Pirates in the championship game with a final score of 63-42.

“As a Northwestern graduate, it’s exciting to see the Tigers bring home their first state championship,” VanNatter said. “The entire team and staff put in a tremendous amount of work to make this possible, and it’s a privilege to recognize their efforts at the Statehouse.”

In addition to the state title, the Tigers this season set school records for 3-point percentage, field-goal percentage and free-throw percentage.

“Ending the season on a 22-game winning streak is no small feat,” Karickhoff said. “These students remained equally committed to their athletics and academics throughout their entire season and I want to congratulate them for their dedication to excellence.”

To learn more about House Concurrent Resolution 60, visit iga.in.gov.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *