County Election Drawing Lots of Interest from Candidates

With a week-and-a-half remaining before the filing deadline ends at noon on Friday, Feb. 9, 49 individuals have filed interest for various offices and positions in Clinton County.

The headline race will be for Clinton County Sheriff where four individuals have filed to succeed two-term incumbent Jeff Ward, who must vacate the position due to state law. The four running for the position are former sheriff Mark Mitchell, Jerrad Blacker, Rich Kelly and Matt Myers.

The Clinton County Council will have a contested race in District 4 as current council president Alan Dunn will be challenged by Bechel Crew.

Another contested race will be for Auditor as current Frankfort City Councilman Lewis Wheeler and Britt Ostler are vying for the post currently held by Cathy Hamilton, who is retiring from that position.

Other incumbents who have filed are Tony Sommer (Prosecutor), Scott Shoemaker (District 3 Clinton County Commissioner), Dana Myers (Assessor), Jake Myers (Clinton County Council District 2) and Ron Gascho (Clinton County Council District 3).

Newcomer Jon Hussey has filed for the County Council District 1 seat that is being vacated by Mitchell.

All others who have filed are running for township advisory boards. They include:

Center Township Trustee — Kevin Evans; Center Township Board — Zach Light, Jada Ray, Jami Pratt.

Forest Township Board — Irma Sanders; Forest Advisory Board — Michael Sexton, Marla Caldwell.

Jackson Township Trustee –Fran Reagan; Jackson Township Advisory Board — James Mennen.

Johnson Township Trustee — Thomas Marshall.

Kirklin Township Board — Roger McClain.

Madison Township Advisory Board — John Meyer, Daniel Lahrman; Madison Township Trustee — Andrea Huber.

Michigan Township Trustee — Nick Bales, Patricia McQuinn.

Owen Township Advisory Board — Lewis Flohr, James Unger, Craig Michael, Cory Klinedinst.

Perry Township Trustee — Constance Blacker, Scott Kimmel, Jamey Chaney; Perry Township Advisory Board — Andrew Bailey.

Ross Township Trustee — James Harris; Ross Township Advisory Board — Gary Gangwer, Michael Gochenour.

Sugar Creek Township Trustee — John Bonecutter, Matthew Johnson.

Union Township Trustee — Larry Laughner; Union Township Advisory Board — Jerry Ostler, Paul Dorsey, David Little.

Warren Township Advisory Board — Phillip Carter.

Washington Township Board — Jeffrey Sigler.

The Primary Election is set for Tuesday, May 8, and the General Election is set for Tuesday, Nov. 6.