Sheets, Woods Gain Frankfort City Council Nominations

Republicans Megan Sheets and Eric Woods were the winners for the two at-large positions on the Frankfort City Council in Tuesday’s General Election.

Sheets wound up being the winner with 859 votes (45.84 percent). Woods was second at 755 (40.29 percent), while Democrat David Riggs was third with 260 votes (13.86 percent).

Tuesday’s results means the city council will have several new faces on it. Sheets will be joining Brandt Fuller and Michael Brite as first-time members of the council. They will be joined by Republicans Clarence Warthan, Steve Beardsley and Woods and Democrat Joe Palmer. Mayor Chris McBarnes was re-elected to an unprecedented third term in an uncontested race.

Other uncontested winners were Judy Sheets (City Clerk-Treasurer), Matt Beardsley (City Court Judge), Warthan (District 1), Palmer (District 2), Brite (District 3), Steve Beardsley (District 4) and Fuller (District 5).

Long-time Republican councilman Jim Moyer elected not to seek re-election and will leave the board at the end of the year.

“We keep movin’ on doing the work of the people,” said Woods. “I look forward to getting our there for my fourth term serving and I look forward to working with the new faces that we saw elected this evening. I also want to say thank you to the people for showing their support for us.”

Sheets was equally thankful and talked about a huge item that she wants to see taken care of.

“One of the things that I think is most needed, and I know the council is working on it, is affordable housing and plentiful affordable housing for our community. That will be one of my passions that we have in the community.”

In the race for Colfax Town Council, the winner was Republican Marty Stevens with 62 votes. He was followed by Republican Mike Brothers 45, Democrat Brian Boksa 42, Republican Gavin Jones 40, Republican Vince Scott 36 and Democrat Katie Allen 36. The top five will be elected to the board.

Regina Lea Pifer won the uncontested race for Town Clerk-Treasurer.

In Kokomo, Republican Tyler Moore easily defeated Democrat Abbie Smith for the mayoral position. Republican Diane Howard defeated Democrat Brenda S. Brunnemer-Ott for city clerk.

In the Monticello mayoral race, Democrat Cathy Gross defeated Republican Matthew McKean.

Incumbent mayor Shane Evans won re-election in Delphi as he defeated Dale Seward.

Election Coverage 2019 sponsors were Wamplers Services Inc. and Encompass Credit Union.