Voting Center Locations Announced for Upcoming May Primary Race

Clinton County Clerk Stephanie Harshbarger has announced the 2023 vote center, locations, dates and times. Since this is a City election, only those locations in Frankfort will be used for voting.

Voting will be held at the Clinton County Courthouse from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday April 4-28. Voting at the Courthouse will be held on Saturday, April 22, and Saturday, April 29, from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. and Monday, May 1, from 8 a.m. to noon.

The Edward Jones Community Center will be open for voting on Saturday, April 22, and Saturday, April 29, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Voting on Election Day Tuesday, May 2, will be held at the Community Schools of Frankfort Administration Center, 2400 E. Wabash Street; the Edward Jones Community 4H Building at the Clinton County Fairgrounds, 1701 S. Jackson Street; and the Adrian Marks Terminal at the Frankfort Airport on State Road 28 West from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. The Courthouse will not be open for voting on Election Day. It will be open for election business only.

Available ballots will be the Republican Party for the City of Frankfort and for the Public Question for the Clinton Central School Corporation.

In addition for the May Primary Election, the Democratic Party did not request that Party Election be held. Their non-contested candidates will appear on the General Election ballot in November.

Harahbarger reminds anyone who wants to vote in this election and is not registered has until Tuesday, April 3, to do so. In addition to register online, you can also register by mail or in person at the Clinton County Clerk’s Office on the second floor of the Courthouse.

Here’s how the local races shape up:

Mayor Judy Sheets will be challenged by John Kirby for the mayor’s position. Sheets will be seeking her second term as mayor, while Kirby was the former Fire Chief.

The race for Frankfort City Council shapes up this way: incumbent Clarence Warthan faces challenger David Riggs in District 1; newcomer Robert (Joe) Stevens is running unopposed in District 2; incumbent Michael Brite is unopposed in District 3; incumbent Steve Beardsley is unopposed in District4; newcomers Joseph Bookwalter and Isac Chavez face each other in District 5; with incumbents Eric Woods, Megan Sheets and Brandt Fuller vying for the two at-large positions. Fuller currently represents District 5 on the board. Longtime city councilman Joe Palmer elected not to file for re-election.

Incumbent Carol Bartley has field to run as Clerk-Treasurer and incumbent Matt Beardsley has filed to run for City Court Judge.