USDA Releases Counties Eligible for Disaster Relief Funds

Clinton County has been declared as one of 23 counties by the United States Department of Agriculture as an eligible Primary County from the tornadoes, high winds, hail and excessive wind that occurred March 31 and April 1.

Two other counties — Howard and White — also received this declaration.

Four other counties from the area — Boone, Carroll, Tippecanoe and Tipton — were also named as a Contiguous County that is also eligible.

Boone County was also named as a Primary County who is eligible for high winds that hit that area April 5.

This Administrator’s Physical Loss Notification allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the
refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

The application deadline for both of those is January 5, 2004.

For more information, contact your local USDA Service Center.